The President of the National Assembly appoints Maya Bacache to the Arcep Board

Martine Lombard, who has been a member of Arcep’s Executive board since January 2015, has chosen to terminate her tenure in order to devote herself to her new assignment: she has been appointed President of the jury for the national competitive examination for aggregation in public law, by Order of the Minister for Higher Education, Research and Innovation:

« I was so very pleased to take part in the collective work that Arcep performs every day for the common good, and I am sorry to have to leave, but I do so to be able to devote myself fully to a new and demanding new assignment. »

Arcep salutes the tremendous contribution that Martine Lombard made to the Authority’s work. Her legal expertise was especially valuable when examining the major issues that have shaped Arcep’s work since she was appointed: mobile network sharing, fibre regulation, opening the business market up to competition, net neutrality, the New Deal for Mobile, preparing for 5G. Martine Lombard also played an active role in the work that Arcep did with consumer associations, local authorities and their representatives, as well as with entities in France’s overseas territories.

Today, the President of the National Assembly, Richard Ferrand, appointed Maya Bacache to the Arcep Executive Board, starting on 1 October 2019.

A graduate of the École normale supérieure (Ulm), with a post-graduate degree in economics and social sciences, and a PhD in economics, Maya Bacache is a professor of economics at Telecom ParisTech. She was a member of the Economic Analysis Council (CAE), the Employment Advisory Council (COE) and of CSA Lab. She was also a member of Advisory board on electronic communications in 2012. Maya Bacache is currently a member of France’s High Council of Public Finances. Public spending and government reform are among her areas of research, along with the digital economy and digital tech regulation in particular.

The Arcep Executive Board welcomes this appointment.

The Board is composed of seven members: Sébastien Soriano (Chair), Serge Abiteboul, Maya Bacache, Joëlle Cottenye, Emmanuel Gabla, Monique Liebert-Champagne and François Lions. Three of them, including the Chair, are appointed by the President of the Republic. The other four are appointed, respectively, by the President of the National Assembly and the President of the Senate. Board members are appointed for an irrevocable and non-renewable six-year term of office.