The President of the Senate appoints Emmanuel Gabla to the Arcep Executive Board

1st February 2019

Yesterday, the President of the Senate, Gérard Larcher, appointed Emmanuel Gabla to the Arcep Executive Board, as of 1 February 2019.

A former student at the Ecole Polytechnique, a graduate of the Ecole nationale supérieure des télécommunications (ENST), and a chief telecommunications engineer, Emmanuel Gabla has been Head of the Economic Section of France's embassy in Norway since 2016.
Emmanuel Gabla began his career in 1993 at the Ministry of PTT, who prepared the 1996 Act that opened the telecoms sector up to competition. Starting in 1997, Emmanuel Gabla served as an advisor on telecoms, the information society, postal affairs and industrial aspects of the internal market to the Permanent Representation of France to the European Union, as technical advisor to the Prime Minister, Jean Pierre Raffarin, in charge of telecoms and postal affairs, industrial property and space, and the head of the Technologies and Information Society department at the Directorate-General for Enterprise.

From 2009 to 2015, Emmanuel Gabla was a member of Board of French broadcasting authority, CSA, and a member of the General Council for the Economy, Industry, Energy and Technologies from 2015 to 2016.

He will be taking over from Pierre-Jean Benghozi whose term as a member of the Arcep Executive Board has come to an end. Arcep thanks Pierre-Jean Benghozi for his invaluable contribution to the Authority's work.

Arcep's Executive Board is composed of seven members: Sébastien Soriano (Chair) Serge Abiteboul, Joëlle Cottenye, Emmanuel Gabla, Monique Liebert-Champagne and Martine Lombard. The seventh member will be appointed by the President of France. Three of the Board members, including the Chair, are appointed by the President of France. The other four are appointed by the President of the National Assembly and the President of the Senate, respectively. Appointed for a period of six years, their term of office on the Arcep Executive Board is irrevocable and non-renewable.