Communiqué de presse

The President of France appoints Monique LIEBERT-CHAMPAGNE to the Arcep Board

Paris, 4 January 2017

By order of the President of France, François Hollande, dated 30 December 2016, Monique LIEBERT-CHAMPAGNE has been appointed member of the Arcep Executive Board, starting on 4 January 2017.

State Councillor, a graduate of the Institute of Political Studies (IEP) in Paris, and with a post-graduate degree (DEA) in Economics, Monique LIEBERT-CHAMPAGNE is a graduate of the École nationale d’administration (Class of Henri-François d’Aguesseau).

Joining the Conseil d’Etat in 1982, Monique LIEBERT-CHAMPAGNE was in charge of overseeing tax case law in the resource library before becoming a Government tax commissioner. She was subsequently appointed Director or regional development for the Ile de France region in 1990, then deputy Director-General in 1996. Appointed State Councillor in 1998, she became a Litigation Section assessor and a member of the Finance Section. From 2003 to 2005, she served as director to the Ministry of State Reform, acting as the users’ and administrative simplifications delegate.

From 2005 to 2007, she was the Director of Legal affairs, IT and logistics for France’s Ministry of Transportation, Infrastructure, Tourism and the Sea, later the Ministry of Energy, Sustainable development and the Sea, before becoming the Director of Legal Affairs for the Ministry of Defence from 2007 to 2012.
Before being appointed to the Arcep Board, she had been the Chair of Energy Regulation Commission’s (CRE) Dispute settlement and sanctions committee (CoRDiS) since 2013: acting independently from the Board of Commissioners, this committee enables CRE to guarantee market players’ transparent and non-discriminatory access to energy networks.

Monique LIEBERT-CHAMPAGNE succeeds Marie-Laure DENIS whose term of office as Member of the Arcep Executive Board has expired.
Arcep salutes the contribution that Marie-Laure DENIS made to Arcep’s work.

The Arcep Executive Board is composed of seven members: Sébastien SORIANO, (Chair), Françoise BENHAMOU, Pierre-Jean BENGHOZI, Philippe DISTLER, Monique LIEBERT-CHAMPAGNE, Martine LOMBARD and Jacques STERN. Three of the members, including the Chair, are appointed by the President of France. The other four are appointed, respectively, by the President of the National Assembly and the President of the Senate, for a six-year term. Board appointments are irrevocable and non-renewable.